The “Real” Issues

Sometimes I really just want to say “What the fuck is wrong with people?” This is an example of why:

Earlier today I was in a meeting for my school newspaper, and we were discussing article topics. I decided that one of the articles I would write would be on odd/dumb laws; now that I am viewing some of these absurd laws, outrage is beginning to stir within me. To help illustrate my frustrations I will list some of these laws:

Alabama: You may not have an ice cream cone in your back pocket at any time.

New York: Slippers are not to be worn after 10:00 PM

United Kingdom: All land must be left to the eldest son.

Cambodia: Water guns may not be used in New Year’s celebrations.

Italy: A man may be arrested for wearing a skirt.

Canada: Wooden logs may not be painted.

I still must look into the authenticity of these laws, but it cannot be denied that worldwide, there are ridiculous laws in place. Which raises a great point: when there are serious and legitimate issues that have yet to be dealt with, why are absurdities getting priority? Are having an ice cream cone in my back pocket or painting a wooden log more important than world hunger? Of course not, unless you’re a government official. These skewed priorities are truly a mockery of humanity. A better world is not only important, but neccessary (providing we still intend for it to be existence in the future). It’s time to change focus towards the real issues.

Tell me what you think in the comments, I’d love to hear what everyone else has to say about this. What absurdities are prioritized where you live?

Source of aforementioned laws: http://www.dumblaws.com/laws/international/canada

6 thoughts on “The “Real” Issues

  1. So many of these things are historical and have lost their meaning in time. An example is London taxi cabs (hackney carriages) are still required by law to keep a bale of hay in the boot for the horse,

    Like

    1. While I must admit you’re right, I still feel as if (and realize) that’s not the only cause behind such occurrences. Sure, some have valid reasoning/excuses behind them. However, do excuses justify the disregarding of greater issues?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Never disregard those issues, however these things were valid in their day, and law is based on historical events, by removing the superfluous you endanger the valid, it is a house of cards, pluck out the lowermost card and.. Ooops

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

